Dan Pitt Quintet: Wrongs (album review by Christa V.)

This is Dan Pitt’s third album as an ensemble leader, and it expands to include winds as well as a rhythm section. The group consists of Dan Pitt on guitar, Alex Fournier on bass, Nick Fraser on drums, Naomi McCarroll-Butler on alto saxophone, and Patrick Smith on tenor/soprano saxophone. The pieces, all written by Pitt, showcase a wide variety of styles and feels. “BroOke” is fast-paced yet musical with a melody that bops along. “Hunter’s Dream” then completely contrasts this with free flowing almost ambient noise to ease the listener along. The title track then consists of 5 minutes of aggressive playing swelling and ebbs but never stopping. It’s a masterfully crafted album that hits all of the different notes a listener could be looking for! Favorite tracks: 2, 4, 6

Powered by Drupal, an open source content management system